Chairman   –   Mr. Uditha Harilal Palihakkara

MBA(Aston), PG Dip Econ Dev(Col), PG Dip Int’l Affairs (BCIS), J Dip MA(UK), FCA(SL), FCMA(UK), CGMA, FCCA(UK), FIM(SL), ACCS(SL), APB(SL)

Mr. Ariyarathne HewageU.H. Palihakkara is a Chartered Accountant, Investment Banker and Management Consultant with over 40 years of professional experience. He holds a MBA from the Aston University, Birmingham UK, where his dissertation was awarded the Best management Thesis of the year by the British Institute of Management in 1981.

During his professional career, he has held leadership positions in several Public and Private Sector establishments including the Ceylon Electricity Board, Development Finance Corporation , the People’s Merchant Bank, the  Merchant Bank of Sri Lanka, Acland Insurance Ltd., the Securities Council of Sri Lanka, the National Enterprise Development Authority and the Postgraduate Institute of Management. In addition, he had served as a Financial Management Specialist in the Commonwealth Secretariat(CFTC), UK . He had also worked in a number of programmes and projects funded by  the World Bank (WB), the Asian Development Bank (ADB), the African development Bank (AfDB), the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD) and the European Development Bank. His Professional Highlights include: President – The Organization of Professional Associations (OPA) of Sri Lanka. President – The Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka President – The Chartered Institute of Management Accountants UK( Sri Lanka Branch) President – The Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (UK) (Sri Lanka Branch) In recognition of services, , he was inducted into the Hall of Fame of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka. In 2014.

Ex Officio Member   –   Dr. Indrajit Coomaraswamy,  Governer Central Bank


Ex Officio Member   –  Dr. R.H.S. Samaratunga

Mr. MahendraDr. R.H.S. Samaratunga obtained his Bachelor of Arts Degree (Hons) in Economics from the University of Peradeniya in 1978. He possesses a Post Graduate Diploma in Economics awarded by the University of Colombo and secured his MBA from the Post Graduate Institute of Management of the Universality of Sri Jayewardenepura. He has completed a second Master’s degree in the University of Wisconsin, USA. He obtained his PhD from the University of Latrobe, Australia specializing in the field of International Trade.

Dr. Samaratunga joined the Public Service in 1984 as an officer of the Sri Lanka Administrative Service. Since 1984 he held several positions in some departments in the General Treasury ranging from Asst. Director to Director General. He also served in the General Treasury in the capacity of Deputy Secretary to the Treasury. Later he served as Secretary of the Ministry of Environment and Ministry of Petroleum Industry. Presently, he is the Secretary to the General Treasury and Secretary of the Ministry of Finance. In his official capacity as Secretary of the Finance Ministry, he also serves as a member of the Monetary Board of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka.

Member   –   Prof. M.M. Zafrullah

Mr. Junaid

Member     –      Mr. Velupillai Kanagasabapathy 


Mr_KanagasabapathyMr. V. Kanagasabapathy holds a Master’s Degree in Public Administration from Harvard University, U.S.A. and is a Fellow Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka, Association of Public Finance Accountants, Institute of Certified Management Accountants of Sri Lanka and Association of Accounting Technicians of Sri Lanka. He is also a member of the Chartered Institute of Public Finance Accountants (CIPFA) London.

He is presently the Advisor, Hotel Developers (Lanka) PLC (Fully owned Government Company owning Hilton Colombo). He is also the President of the Association of Public Finance Accountants, the public sector wing of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka.

He serves as a Chairman of the Public Sector Accounting Standards Committee and serving as a member of the Governmental and Public Sector Enterprise Accounting Committee of the South Asian Federation of Accountants.

He had been a Council Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka and Past President of the Institute of Public Finance and Development Accountancy of Sri Lanka.

Mr. Kanagasabapathy was the Financial Management Advisor to the Ministry of Finance & Planning and Senior Financial Consultant of the Academy of Financial Studies. He has over fourty years of service in the public sector in several senior capacities such as Assistant Director/Deputy Director/Director/Additional Director General/Director General in the Treasury Departments and Financial Management Reform Coordinator in the Ministry of Finance & Planning.

He served as a member of the Board of Bank Ceylon as an Alternate Director to the Ex officio Director on the Board from 2006 to 2013.He was also a Director of People’s Bank, Merchant Bank of Sri Lanka, State Mortgage & Investment Bank and several other Public Enterprises. He has also served as a Director/Financial Consultant of the Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Limited.